Virat Kohli applies saliva on ball and apologizes immediately

Virat Kohli applies saliva on ball and apologizes immediately

Royal Challengers Bangalore skipper Virat Kohli on Monday ended up applying saliva on the ball by mistake while fielding in the match against the Delhi Capitals in Dubai. Fielding at short cover, Virat Kohli stopped a lovely drive from Prithvi Shaw and ended up applying saliva on the ball at the Dubai International Stadium. The skipper, though, realized his mistake immediately, smiled, and also acknowledged the slip-up by raising his hands.

India legend Sachin Tendulkar put out a tweet soon after to point it out. "What an incredible shot by @PrithviShaw there! A million-dollar reaction by @imVkohli after almost applying saliva on the ball. Sometimes instincts take over!" Tendulkar tweeted. A few days ago, Rajasthan Royals batsman Robin Uthappa had made a similar mistake as he was seen applying saliva on the ball while fielding against Kolkata Knight Riders.

The International Cricket Council had banned the use of saliva to shine the ball due to the COVID-19 pandemic in June this year. "If a player does apply saliva to the ball, the umpires will manage the situation with some leniency during an initial period of adjustment for the players, but subsequent instances will result in the team receiving a warning," the ICC had stated in its Standard Operating Procedure. "A team can be issued up to two warnings per innings but repeated use of saliva on the ball will result in a 5-run penalty to the batting side. Whenever saliva is applied to the ball, the umpires will be instructed to clean the ball before play recommenced," the ICC notification read.