Bypoll results out today for West Bengal ,Uttarakhand Assembly ,Counting Begins

Bypoll results out today for West Bengal ,Uttarakhand Assembly ,Counting Begins

The results for bypolls to three West Bengal Assembly Constituencies.The results of Karimaganj ,Kharagpur Sadar and Kaliaganj will be announced on Thursday,The counting of votes will began at 8 am.

Results will also be declared for the assembly by-election in Uttarakhand's Pithoragarh. The seat had fallen vacant after the death of sitting MLA and cabinet minister Prakash Pant in June. Mr Pant's wife Chandra took on the Congress's Anju Lunthi in the bypoll. Samajwadi Party's Lalit Mohan Bhatt is the third contestant.

The election commission had said that "The average voting percentage was 75.48 per cent. The turnout was 77.17 per cent in Kaliaganj, 67.62 per cent in Kharagpur Sadar and 81.23 per cent in Karimpur,"

The three seats were held by different parties - Karimganj belonged to the Trinamool, Kharagpur to the BJP and Kaliaganj to the Congress.

The bypolls were conducted six months after the BJP pulled off a stunning result in the national election in West Bengal. After a sustained onslaught by Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Home Minister Amit Shah, the BJP tally in the state rose from 2 to 18, while that of the ruling Trinamool Congress plummeted to 22.

Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee is under pressure from the BJP that is growing increasingly influential in the state. And with 18 months to go for Assembly elections in the state, these bypolls could indicate an early trend.

All the four major political parties -- the Trinamool, BJP, Congress and the Left-- will hope for a victory in these elections and carry the momentum into the state polls.