Palaniswami is AIADMK CM candidate for Tamil Nadu polls:Panneerselvam

Palaniswami is AIADMK CM candidate for Tamil Nadu polls:Panneerselvam

Amid the ongoing turf war between the two factions of the ruling AIADMK in Tamil Nadu, Edappadi K Palaniswami was announced as the chief ministerial candidate for the upcoming election in Tamil Nadu. Interestingly, the announcement was made by Deputy CM O Panneerselvam.

The major announcement comes amid the faction war between the two camps in AIADMK led by Palaniswami and Paneerselvam. OPS has been engaged in a standoff with EPS over the 11-member panel as well who will be the CM face for AIADMK with no Jayalalithaa at the helm.

Chief Minister Edappadi K Palaniswami, Deputy Chief Minister O Panneerselvam, and other AIADMK leaders arrived at the party office in Chennai, for a meeting over the 2021 assembly elections in the state on Wednesday.

Edappadi K Palaniswami also announced an 11-member steering committee for the 2021 Tamil Nadu elections. Six of the 11 members are from the OPS camp which is being seen as a bid to placate O Panneerselvam who had been eyeing the CM chair for a long.

Members of the AIADMK steering committee are Dindigul Srinivasan, Thangamani, SP Velumani, D Jayakumar, CV Shanmugham, Kamaraj, JCD Prabhakarn, Manoj Pandian, Pa Mohan, Gopalakrishnan and T Manickam.

Palaniswami on Wednesday made the announcement of the 11-member steering committee while a somber-looking Panneerselvam made the announcement of EPS being the CM face.