Kerala undergoes major bureaucratic reshuffle

Kerala undergoes major bureaucratic reshuffle

The Kerala cabinet meeting chaired by Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan appointed Vishwas Mehta as the new Chief Secretary.

Mehta, a 1986-batch IAS officer from Dungarpur in Rajasthan will succeed Chief Secretary Tom Jose who will retire on May 31.

Mehta has been serving as the Home Secretary of Kerala.

TK Jose, a 1988 batch IAS officer and Additional Chief Secretary to the Public Works Department will replace Mehta as Home Secretary. The state government followed the seniority list while appointing Chief Secretary and Home Secretary.

Three senior IAS officers - Anandkumar, Ajaykumar and Inderjit Singh who are on deputation to the Government of India showed no interest in returning to state cadre as Chief Secretary.

Newly designated Chief Secretary Mehta is a musician by passion.

The state government also transferred four district collectors including Thiruvananthapuram and shifted Additional Chief Secretary for Revenue V Venu as Additional Chief Secretary for Planning. Principal Secretary A Jayathilak is the new Revenue Secretary.