India beat England in thrilling final to claim 2nd Champions Trophy title in 2013

India beat England in thrilling final to claim 2nd Champions Trophy title in 2013

Cricket like all other sports has been halted due to the coronavirus pandemic and there is no update regarding the next series of the Indian cricket team. We keep taking you back every day, offering glimpses of history in the absence of live cricket action.

Exactly seven years ago on this day, India defeated hosts England to clinch their second ICC Champions Trophy title at Edgbaston. With that thrilling win, India also became the second team after Australia to win the ICC Champions Trophy more than one time.

With this triumph, MS Dhoni became the first captain in history to win all three major ICC trophies - World Cup in 2011, World T20 in 2007 and 2013 Champions Trophy.

After frustrating showers reduced the contest to a T20 affair, India first scored 129 for seven and then restricted England to 124 for eight in a topsy-turvy game that went down to the wire.

After being put into bat, India struggled on a sluggish wicket. The team was rescued by a 47-run sixth-wicket stand between Virat Kohli (43) and Jadeja (33 not out).

Chasing 130, England was left at 46/4 in the eighth over as Alastair Cook (2), Jonathan Trott (20), Ian Bell (13), and Joe Root (7) were all sent back to the pavilion.

Eoin Morgan and Ravi Bopara then steadied the ship for England as the duo put on 64 runs for the fifth wicket. However, with just 20 runs away from the target, England lost the wickets of Morgan (33) and Bopara (30) as both batsmen were sent back to the pavilion by Ishant Sharma.

Skipper Dhoni jumped in joy as the delirious Indian players hugged each other while the others were busy collecting souvenir stumps to mark another remarkable chapter in Indian cricket history.

This was India's second Champions Trophy title having won the first one jointly with Sri Lanka back in 2002. That India won the championship two days before the 30th anniversary of the maiden World Cup triumph back on June 25, 1983.

Ravindra Jadeja earned the man of the match award for his performance in the final while Shikhar Dhawan was named the man of the series for scoring 363 runs in the tournament.