EC branch of BJP: Sanjay Raut

EC branch of BJP: Sanjay Raut

Two days after Bihar polled in the first phase of the assembly elections, Shiv Sena leader Sanjay Raut said he won't be surprised if RJD chief Tejashwi Yadav becomes the state's chief minister.

"A young man without any support, whose family members are in jail and the CBI and IT Department is behind him, is challenging everyone in a state like Bihar. I won't be surprised if Tejashwi Yadav becomes Bihar CM tomorrow, bagging majority of votes," news agency ANI quoted Sanjay Raut as saying on Saturday.

"Everyone knows what is happening in Bihar during elections. But still, people believe that the elections will be transparent," Sanjay Raut said.

Sanjay Raut also attacked the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), saying that the "Election Commission [EC] of India is a branch of the BJP".

When asked about EC stating that there was no poll conduct violation in BJP's free vaccine promise in Bihar if the saffron party is elected to power, Sanjay Raut said, "The Election Commission of India is a branch of BJP. So you cannot expect anything else from them."

On rumors of BJP leader Pankaja Munde joining the Shiv Sena, Sanjay Raut said he has no clue about it. "If anybody can offer her, it is [Maharashtra] CM Uddhav ji," Sanjay Raut said.

Polling in the first phase of Bihar elections took place on October 30 with a voter turnout of 55.69 per cent across the 71 seats. The second phase of Bihar assembly election 2020 will take place on November 3 and the third phase on November 7. The counting of votes will be done on November 10.